Equanimity Foundation

Local sustainability

Guidelines, description and expectations

Equanimity Foundation is based on a mini city-farm 10 klms south of the CBD walking and cycling distance from major retailers and convenient transport. I am a professional English Language Teacher who has travelled and lived abroad. I built this replica Queenslander in 2011 with all the sustainable features re power and water, etc.. I’m committed to extracting my personal needs from the debt-based money system as much as possible, whilst maintaining a high quality of life. Although I’ve down-shifted in some ways, I reject the mentality of poverty and scarcity and am grateful for a quality of life that many a deprived of.

The garden is newly established; mainly fruit trees, veges, herbs, nuts and chickens. I’m committed to organic permaculture and am still learning. Accommodation is clean, new and comfortable with self-catering kitchen, sharing with one other downstairs. I have a separate living area, but will regard you as part of the household, combining meals & outings sometimes. It’s also a gay-friendly household.

Long term guests pay a membership subscription of $80 per week and do a minimum of 5 hours per week. (Minimum wage in Australia is about $17 p/hour, so 5 x $17 +$80 = $165.) This gives them exclusive use of some private space and shared use of other space and facilities. Fresh food is available in the garden. Where there is a perceived need to monitor, tenants can use the TemptyTrust system to deduct consumption of garden produce from their (alternative currency LETS) account. Extra hours worked are credited to their LETS account at the hourly rate (see above). This encourages guests to use the LETS system, which networks them with an alternative marketplace. The more they work the more produce is created, the more Units they earn, and therefore they can consume more from home. This makes the most of the infrastructure installed. This is made easier with a price list, scales and a spreadsheet that automatically calculates everything. If fewer than the minimum hours are worked, $s are paid, to incentivize time at home and minimize unutilized space.

For exclusive use of one ground floor room and shared use of other areas:

Single – $165 p/week

Couple – $210 p/week

$80 + 5 hours @ 17 p/hour

$85 + 4 hours @ 20 p/hour

$142 + 4 hours @ 17 p/hour

$130 + 4 hours @ 20 p/hour

Couples can share one spreadsheet if their hours are valued equally, e.g a partner is on $6.43 pro-rata daily rate when visiting.

For use of upstairs guest room by friends or family of housemates:

Single – $10 + 10Us p/night

Couple – $15 + 15Us p/night

Dollars only – $10

Dollars only – $15

Regarding short term HelpXers and Woofers, I am usually only looking for one Guest at a time. I welcome short-term Guests (2 weeks) occasionally, when there are a series of fairly repetitious tasks to do, such as spring cleaning or harvesting. Short-term Guests need not be fluent in English. However, longer-term visitors should be fluent in English because the tasks here are varied and complex; work includes taking responsibility for production of food and plants, various aspects of tending and maintaining the garden & property and a few, shared house-hold chores in your area.

The Helpx terms of agreement are; 5~6 hours p/day with two days p/week off…  I provide some meals, and for those meals you arrange for yourself, or better still, for the me/&/or the household, time can be deducted from work hours. This is something we can discuss in detail as it may change from day to day, or it may be regular. I try to eat mainly veges, but they’re high prep food so I get tired of doing it myself. Therefore, I like to have ‘escape clauses’ (;>) such as; eating out or takeaway (I pay the first $8, you make up the rest); you cook a meal (lunch/dinner) from the kitchen and take half an hour off work (1 hour if it’s your food or if you’re preparing for me & others in the house as well – sometimes one other HelpXer). Breakfast is usually simple, sometimes together, sometimes DIY. Note, I’m not in the right post code zone to help with 2nd Working Holiday Visas, sorry; you have to get out into the countryside for that. Please check the post codes listed on the Immigration Department’s website. http://www.immi.gov.au/visitors/working-holiday/417/postcodes.htm

Standard rates for use of upstairs guest room:

Single – $20 + 20Us p/night

Couple – $25 + 25Us p/night

Dollars only – $25

Dollars only – $30

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: